Mimi

Posted: March 17, 2013 in Sports

Sorry for the lapse in posting to this blog. In September we lost my grandmother, Kathleen Graham, who everybody called “Mimi,” after a long, hard battle against cancer and I just couldn’t sit down and write for a while.

She lived with us since I was three, but I don’t remember a time when she didn’t live with us and she was truly my “other mother.” Mimi talked often about her days growing up in Manhattan and how she was the star of her CYO basketball team at St. Cecilia’s. Those were the days when girls only played half the court with the guards on the defensive side, the forwards on the offensive side and one rover who could cross the mid-court line. She said that even back in those days, CYO stood for “Crush Your Opponent” and remembered that the toughest and most physical game she ever played was against a bunch of girls studying to be nuns! My dad thinks  one or two of them might have taught him somewhere along the line.

God bless you, Mimi. I know you’re always with me on the basketball court.

Comments
  1. Jere Kane says:

    Keep on writing Mike!

Would love to know what you think...

